DWI 1st Offense
Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Mario Madrid
Driving While Intoxicated First Offense
In Texas a first time DWI charge can result in a high fine, a possible loss of your driver’s license, surcharges, probation or even jail time. These possible consequences apply even if you have never been charged with any crime before your first arrest for driving while intoxicated.
Houston DWI Lawyer Mario Madrid is Board Certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization in criminal law, criminal defense, and is a proud member of the National College for DUI Defense and trained in Field Sobriety Testing. He aggressively defends people charged with DWI, has extensive experience and a proven track record of DWI defense.
First Time DWI Penalties
A first time DWI is classified as a Class B Misdemeanor. The range of punishment for a Class B DWI is from 3 days to 180 days in the county jail and a possible fine up to $2,000.
The jail time may be probated. If probation is granted for a DWI conviction you will be required to perform community service hours up to a possible 200 hours. Further, you will be required to attend a DWI education class, a Victim Impact Panel, monthly random urine analysis among other possible conditions and possibly be required to maintain an ignition interlock on the car you drive.
The penalties are costly and time consuming. An experienced DWI Attorney in Houston can defend your rights and challenge the state at every turn to protect your record.
Driver’s License Suspension and Surcharge Consequences
When you are arrested for DWI in Texas you will be asked to submit to a breath test. If you refuse the test your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days. If you submit to the test and fail it, your license will be suspended for 90 days.
You have 15 days to request an Administrative License Revocation Hearing to fight the suspension of your license. An experienced DWI Lawyer can fight to save your license.
A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated will result in surcharges levied by the Texas Department of Public Safety. If the surcharge is not paid, your license will remain suspended.
Accused of Criminal Activity in Texas?
Contact Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Mario Madrid
The surcharge for a First Time DWI is $1,000 to be paid for 3 years to DPS. If you are charged with a DWI and have a blood alcohol concentration of .16 or more the surcharge is $2,000 a year for 3 years. These burdensome penalties are a possible $3,000 to $6,000 just to keep your license.
It is imperative to fight these onerous consequences with someone who knows the court system and the numerous DWI laws.
Contact A DWI Lawyer
If you have been charged with DWI in Houston you will need someone to lead to you through the maze that is the criminal justice system as you face the myriad of possible consequences that come with a Driving While Intoxication charge. Call Houston DWI Lawyer Mario Madrid at 713-877-9400 to begin your defense.