DWI 2nd Offense
If you have previously been convicted of Driving While Intoxicated and find yourself charged with a DWI 2nd charge, you are already aware of the strict DWI laws of Texas. A DWI 2nd Offense comes with stricter penalties, among them are that you will be required to have an interlock device on the vehicle in which you drive as a condition of bond. Although you are presumed to be innocent the law provides that you shall have an interlock for simply being charged with a Driving While Intoxicated 2nd Offense.
Mario Madrid is a seasoned DWI charge defense lawyer in Houston who has successfully defended the rights of multiple individuals charged with DWI offenses. His success in fighting DWI charges is a result of his tenacity, aggressiveness, and his thorough understanding of the DWI laws of Texas.
He understands what is at stake with a charge of DWI 2nd and fights to protect the rights of his clients. Just because you have been charged does not mean that you are guilty. Everything must be contested from the stop, to the Field Sobriety Tests as well as the breath or blood test.
Second Time DWI Penalties
A DWI 2nd offense is classified as a Class A Misdemeanor. The range of punishment for a DWI 2nd is from 30 days to 365 days in the county jail and a possible fine up to $4,000. Even if you are given probation you will have to spend 3 days in jail as a condition of probation and you will be required to have an ignition interlock during the probation period. An experienced DWI attorney can defend your rights and help you to avoid a possible conviction and jail time.
Driver’s License Suspension
As you know, when you are arrested for DWI in Texas you will be asked to submit to a breath test. If you refuse the test and you have prior contacts (meaning a prior ALR suspension) within 10 years your driver’s license will be suspended for 2 years. If you submit to the test and fail it and you have prior contacts within 10 years, your license will be suspended for 1 year.
You have 15 days to request an Administrative License Revocation Hearing to fight the suspension of your license. An Administrative Judge will determine whether there was reasonable suspicion to stop you and whether there was probable cause to arrest you. An experienced DWI Lawyer can fight to save your license.
Accused of Criminal Activity in Texas?
Contact Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Mario Madrid
Just like a first time DWI a conviction, a Second Driving While Intoxicated charge will result in surcharges levied by the Texas Department of Public Safety. If the surcharge is not paid, your license will remain suspended.
The surcharge for a Second Time DWI is $1,500 to be paid for 3 years to DPS. If you have a blood alcohol concentration of .16 or more the surcharge is $2,000 a year for 3 years. These surcharges amount to a possible $4,500 to $6,000 just to keep your license.
You must fight to save your license and avoid the high cost of these DPS Surcharges.
DWI 2nd Offense Lawyer
The consequences are daunting when faced with a DWI 2nd. You need someone on your side to be your advocate, protect your rights and champion your defense. Call Houston DWI Attorney Mario Madrid, a proven and experienced DWI Lawyer, at 713-877-9400.