Texas is tough on Driving While Intoxicated offenses. The Texas Legislature has enacted numerous laws to punish DWI offenders. You can go to jail, lose your license and pay surcharges. In certain situations the charges may rise to Felony DWIs which can result in a prison sentence.
DWI 3rd Offense
If you are charged with a DWI and have been convicted of 2 prior DWIs you will be charged with the Felony of DWI 3rd Offense.
A 3rd DWI is a Third Degree Felony. It is punishable by possible prison time of 2 to 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
DWI With A Child Passenger
If you are arrested for DWI and are driving a vehicle that is occupied by a child younger than 15 years of age you will face a charge of DWI with a Child Passenger.
Driving While Intoxicated with a Child Passenger is classified as a State Jail Felony. It has a range of punishment of 180 days to 2 years in a State Jail facility with a possible fine up to $10,000. Time spent in the State Jail is calculated day for day with no possibility for parole.
A person commits the offense of Intoxication Assault when by accident or mistake while operating a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated, by reason of that intoxication causes serious bodily injury to another.
Generally, Intoxication Assault is a Third Degree Felony punishable by prison time of 2 to 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
In certain instances the level of punishment can be raised to that of a Second Degree Felony for Intoxication Assault. The offense of Intoxication Assault is a felony of the second degree if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the defendant caused serious bodily injury to a peace officer, a firefighter, or emergency medical services personnel while in the actual discharge of an official duty. Also, it’s a felony of the second degree if it is shown at the trial of the offense that the defendant caused serious bodily injury to another person in the nature of a traumatic brain injury that results in a persistent vegetative state.
Charged With Drunk Driving in Houston?
Talk With Houston DWI Attorney Mario Madrid
Intoxication Manslaughter is the most serious of the criminal DWI laws in Texas. A person commits the offense of Intoxication Manslaughter if they operate a motor vehicle in a public place and is intoxicated and by reason of that intoxication causes the death of another by accident or mistake.
Intoxication Manslaughter is a Second Degree Felony with a range of punishment of 2 to 20 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
Intoxication Manslaughter can be enhanced to a First Degree Felony if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the defendant caused the death of a peace officer, a firefighter, or emergency medical services personnel while in the actual discharge of an official duty.
Felony DWI Lawyer
When facing a Felony DWI it is imperative to retain representation that is proven, knowledgeable and prepared to defend your rights and your freedom. Texas Board Certified criminal defense lawyer Mario Madrid is a Houston DWI felony lawyer with a successful track record of DWI defense.